Civic school

Michelle Obama was in Denver a few weeks ago and I was fortunate enough to make it to her speaking engagement. She was as kind, intelligent, and humorous as I’d seen her represented in some of my favorite videos of the past several years.

One of the things she talked about was getting real and honest with your peers about politics before trying to bridge the gap and reach out to other groups. This resonated with me.

The personal is political, and I think anyone who says otherwise is in denial. I think it can be overwhelming to mentally follow the path from our own lives to the federal government; it’s complex and convoluted, no doubt. What leaps and bounds it requires, to get from my uterus to the Senate floor! It’s overwhelming.

So, I’ve been batting around the idea of focusing on my local elected officials. I’ve mentioned this idea of schooling myself on local politics (what are each of the Denver City Council members about? What’s in the Colorado Constitution?) to some friends and they seem interested. If nothing else, it may give us some balance as far as perceptions of politics; only paying attention to what’s going on in the White House these days is going to drive us to disjointed thinking and water the seeds of fear. Maybe I’ll get to know one of the Denver Council members well enough to throw down on some carpool karaoke of our own.

Leave a Reply

